Posted: Wednesday, 30 July 2008 by jazzlover in Etykiety:

Extrapolation - Construction of new data points outside of a discrete set of known data points

Having played as a session/sideman in a number of R&B bands as well as with pop artists which included DAVID BOWIE and the ROLLING STONES in and around London, England for the better part of the 1960`s, McLaughlin played onJACK BRUCE`S 1968 album THINGS WE LIKE which served as a springboard for his first album as leader/composer. Sounding more like a group effort EXTRAPOLATION featured the already prominent saxman John Surman on soprano and baritone saxes, Bill Odges on bass who later attracted the attention of Miles Davis and the underrated Tony Oxley on drums. McLaughlin himself switched back and forth on an acoustic guitar with a pickup and an electric hollow body.
Overshadowed for many years by McLaughlin`s firebreathing MAHAVISHNU ORCHESTRA formed a scant few years later, this debut is one of McLaughlin`s finest recordings and demonstrates his prowess as a Jazzman. It was perhaps the closest Mclaughlin came to playing straight jazz with the resulting ten tracks, all of which were composed by Mclaughlin himself, having a very bright post-bop experimental free jazz sound to them crammed with solos and interplay from both McLaughlin and Surman. The fact that it was recorded straight with no overdubs gives it a " jam session" feel to it and every crisp track flows nicely into the next thanks partially to engineering by Eddie Offord who would produce future ELP and YES projects.
EXTRAPOLATION is a monumental jazz recording which is also a brilliant foreshadowing of the various musical paths McLaughlin would follow over the next decade. From his participation with MILES DAVIS` and TONY WILLIAMS`proto-fusion projects, through the ferocity of THE MAHAVISNU ORCHESTRA and on to East Indian explorations with Shakti. A timeless gem from the vaults.

John McLaughlin – Extrapolation (1969)

1. Extrapolation (2:57)
2. It's Funny (4:25)
3. Arjen's Bag (4:25)
4. Pete The Poet (5:00)
5. This Is For Us To Share (3:30)
6. Spectrum (2:45)
7. Binky's Beam (7:05)
8. Really You Know (4:25)
9. Two For Two (3:35)
10. Peace Piece (1:50)

Baritone And Soprano Saxophone - John Surman
Bass - Brian Odges
Drums - Tony Oxley
Electric And Acoustic Guitar - John McLaughlin
Producer - Giorgio Gomelsky

Originally released 1969.
All titles composed by John McLaughlin.

4 komentarze:

  1. Jeff says:

    So happy to see this! I have it on LP, but I am without a player right now, so I haven't heard it in ages. Many thanks for sharing

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for posting this. Sounds great!

  1. mf76 says:

    My scratched vinyl is getting an upgrade...Thank You :)