:::air cavalry #5:::

Posted: Friday, 14 December 2012 by jazzlover in Etykiety:

After the superb Coses Nostres, how can one follow up and still appear as on top of their game? Iceberg found the easy (but not so obvious) answer, to make another superb album, and believe me they did. The album actually veers a bit more jazzy in the fusion sense sometimes approaching the over-demonstrative Return To Forever or even a bit Weather Report and still the better Santana (Caravanserai) and Mahavishnu Orchestra. Some moments are so powerful that I cannot help but thinking of Journey's superb jazz-rock debut album with the incredible Ainsley Dunbar on drums.
Right from the opening title track, you know this album will strike all the rights chords if you like the above-mentioned bands, and the Spanish feel is present but nothing obtrusive (hardly any flamenco hints, but more of Rodrigo (Aranjuez) feel. Again Sunyer and Mas take the stage by storm, but the rhythm section is really on top of its game. The only small gripe I might have is that the synths sounds are a bit more "modern", but at least on this album they have been correctly reproduced during the CD transcript. To separate one track and raise it above the rest is simply impossible to this reviewer, because the album is incredibly even, with maybe Magic a bit under par. However, if I must name just one track, listen to the closer Alegries Del Mediterraneo.
A smoking album, just as excellent as the previous Coses Nostres but better rated because of no avoidable sound flaws. Among my top 40 jazz-rock albums, no problems even if I have only known it for the last few months.
:::Review by Sean Trane:::

Iceberg - Sentiments (1977)

1. Sentiments (1:50) 
2. Andalusia, Andalusia (5:37) 
3. A Sevilla (5:13) 
4. Ball De Les Fulles (5:30) 
5. Magic (6:23) 
6. Joguines (3:00) 
7. Alegries Del Mediterrani (9:17) 

- Jordi Colomer / drums, percussion 
- Josep "Kitflus" Mas / acoustic & electric pianos, synthesizers 
- Primitivo Sancho / bass 
- Joaquim Max Suñe / acoustic & electric guitars

5 komentarze:

  1. Miles says:

    This is new to me and I'm curious to hear it. I left this sort of music behind many years ago, but I'm always open to something I've never before heard. Thank you.

  1. Hello friends, I wish they could write a review of the album on their website, greetings


  1. Very informative, keep posting such good articles, it really helps to know about things.

  1. After reading this informative and effective post. I have good knowledge now to fix this issue and to explain this issue to others.