:::Unaffected Thought Flow:::

Posted: Monday, 19 July 2010 by jazzlover in Etykiety:

Contemporary Noise Sextet is the band established by Kapsa brothers, who earlier formed Something Like Elvis the legendary emo-hardcore band. Formerly known as Contemporary Noise Quintet/Quartet. CNS musicians are also: Tomek Glazik, saxophones (Kult, ex-4Syfon, Sing, Sing Penelope), Wojtek Jahna, trumpet (Sing, Sing Penelope, Mordy) and the guitar player Kamil Pater who joined the band in November 2006 and lately Patryk Weclawek (bass) who replaced Pawel Urowski.
CNS’s music can be described as energetic jazz with the elements of film music. However, the variety of sounds does not allow pigeonholing their music style unambiguously. The debut record “Pig Inside The Gentleman” was released in autumn 2006. It collected favorable reviews and became one of the records of the year in the plebiscite of III Program of Polish Radio. In November CNQ toured in several cities of Poland. The concerts were enthusiastically received.

What is more, the band gained approving reviews in press:

CNQ convinces straight away to have their own idea for music, which is not only attractive but also perfectly produced. Pig Inside The Gentleman is the record everyone should reach for, the one of the best Polish releases in 2006. (Piotr Lewandowski PopUp Magazine).

SOMETHING LIKE JAZZ Contemporary Noise Quintet: jazz music without jazz, film music without movie but something splendid instead! Despite the band’s name suggesting noisy music for the chosen ones, CNQ appears to be a revelation for everyone. Beautiful, hard, romantic piano tunes in the dialogue with brass section. Simple and extraordinary emotional compositions leading to the climax which makes the flesh creeps while listening. Hair bristle on the heads of those who remember the musical past of CNQ’s members… (Bartek Chacinski Przekroj)

Contemporary impresses with maturity and class. There is elegance as well as punk energy. The compositions are unbelievably spacious but on the other hand all fulfilled with instruments from the superb rhythm combo to the greatly equipped brass section. The roots of the most of CNQ’s musicians reach harder music, sometimes even heavy metal what bears excellent interest. The compositions are vigorous and expressive. The name of the band must be remembered because it undoubtedly is Polish export commodity. (Diggin the Shelf)
:::Review by allaboutjazz:::

Contemporary Noise Sextet - Unaffected Thought Flow (2008)

1. Unaffected Thought Flow (Part 1) 2:20
2. A Girl Killed Nicely 3:58
3. Procession in the Fog (With the Dogs Barkin'...) 10:32
4. Nautilius 5:17
5. New Machine on a Dance Floor 8:33
6. No Marks, No Body, Not Guilty... 3:52
7. Zero Gravity 5:55
8. Unaffected Thought Flow (Part 2) 2:41

Kuba Kapsa - piano, Rhodes, synthesizer
Wojtek Jachna - trumpet
Tomek Glazik - tenor, baritone saxophones, syntezator
Kamil Pater - guitar, baritone guitar
Patryk Weclawek - bass, bass guitar
Bartek Kapsa - drums

at Electric Eye Studio, Szubin, Poland, August 2008

1 komentarze: