:::Arc Of The Testimony:::

Posted: Friday, 23 October 2009 by jazzlover in Etykiety: , , , , , ,

Arc of Testimony is one of the last recordings to feature legendary drummer Tony Williams, and its bold, experimental textures are a fitting epitaph to his career. Arcana was formed by bassist/producer Bill Laswell with the intention of exploring the outer reaches of fusion, ambient and free jazz. Like the group's debut, Last Wave (released only in Japan), Arc of the Testimony is a freewheeling, unpredictable blend of electronic and acoustic sounds. However, this record is even more adventurous, since it finds a common ground between improvisation and post-production studio trickery. All of the musicians Williams, Laswell, saxophonist Pharoah Sanders, saxophonist Byard Lancaster, cornetist Graham Haynes, guitarist Nicky Skopelitis and guitarist Buckethead are open-minded and help push the music forward, resulting in a thoroughly involving, challenging listen.
:::Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine:::

Bill Laswell - Extending energy and experimentation by Anil Prasad

Arcana - Arc Of The Testimony (1997)

1. Gone Tomorrow 9:39
2. Illuminator 6:07
3. Into The Circle 9:25
4. Returning 4:29
5. Calling Out The Blue Light 6:37
6. Circles Of Hell 7:15
7. Wheeless On A Dark River 4:27
8. The Earth Below 5:28

Bass - Bill Laswell
Cornet - Graham Haynes (tracks: 1, 3)
Drums - Tony Williams
Guitar - Buckethead (tracks: 2, 4, 6) , Nicky Skopelitis (tracks: 1 to 7)
Saxophone [Alto] - Byard Lancaster (tracks: 1, 3, 5)
Saxophone [Tenor] - Pharoah Sanders (tracks: 1 to 6)

6 komentarze:

  1. Optional Hero says:

    Nice... looks killer.

  1. Emir says:

    Where is the download link?

  1. jazzlover says:

    ':::try it:::' is what you are looking for. enjoy!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, some unheard tony williams will be a treat.