:::Jazz Europe Express - Spain:::

Posted: Wednesday, 10 November 2010 by jazzlover in Etykiety:

The Spanish progrock quartet Imán Califato Independiente has its origins at a convention, given by the meditation guru Maja-raj-ji, in the mid Seventies.
Like genuine hippies, the musicians lived together in one house in El Puerto De Sta. Maria and eventually they founded Iman and in '78 they made this debut album, entitled Iman Califato Independiente, two years later followed by the LP entitled Camino Del Aguila. Iman also appeared on the Spanish compilation albums Rock Andalus ('94) and Duende" ('97, a 2-CD).
1. Tarantos del Califato Independiente (20:46) : The title points at a strong rhythm in the flamenco music. First a wonderful string- ensemble sound in a sultry atmosphere with twanging guitars and electric guitar play with a strong Morish undertone. Then lots of shifting moods with great guitar-synthesizer interplay (evoking Iceberg) and exciting soli on guitar and synthesizer, a piece with lots of percussion. The final part delivers a slow rhythm with a beautiful and very sensitive electric guitar solo, accompanied by a lush string-ensemble sound, goose bumps!
2. Darshan (8:30) : Again those wonderful strings, followed by great interplay between guitar and synthesizer with the support of a very adventurous rhythm-section. Next a howling guitar solo and an accellaration with fat, pitchbend driven synthesizer flights and a duel between guitar and synthesizer in a captivating atmosphere that blends Prog Andaluz and jazzrock.
3. Cerro Alegre (7:33) : The intro delviers fragile piano work and sensitive twanging classical guitar, then a swinging rhythm with sparkling piano and flamenco rhythm guitar. Halfway a fiery guitar joins, supported by a powerful bass and subdued harpsichord runs. Next a part with bluesy Fender Rhodes electric piano that gradually changes into an exciting interlude with a guitar solo that sounds like the Andalusian Carlos Santana (Caravanserai-era) and culminates in a swinging rhythm, Prog Andaluz meets jazzrock, what a dynamic and cpativating musical experience!
4. Cancion de la Oruga (5:32) : This is a beautiful piece that starts with dreamy twanging classical guitar, soaring keyboards and warm vocals, then a mid-tempo featuring fat synthesizer runs with a Morish undertone and propulsive percussion.
This is a very exciting fusion of Prog Andaluz and jazzrock, highly recommended!
:::Review by erik neuteboom:::

Imán Califato Independiente - Imán Califato Independiente (1978)

1. Tarantos del Califato Independiente (20:46)
2. Darshan (8:30)
3. Cerro Alegre (7:33)
4. Cancion de la Oruga (5:32)

- Iñaki Egaña / bass and vocals
- Kiko Guerrero / drums
- Marcos mantero / keyboards
- Manuel Rodrigue / guitar

2 komentarze:

  1. upkerry14 says:

    Sorry, ignore my previous comment....