:::The Illusion Of Joy:::

Posted: Saturday, 28 August 2010 by jazzlover in Etykiety:

miRthkon hails from Oakland, California, and plays what they describe as "an inimitable blend of quirky prog rock, avant-garde jazz, contemporary classical abstraction, thrash metal, and an uncanny pop accessibility that defies categorization". The band was founded by guitarist/vocalist Wally Scharold in the late 1990s; while existing in some incarnation of some sort for well over a decade, it was not until 2005 that the core lineup (Sharold, guitarist Rob Pumpelly, bassist Nat Hawkes, drummer Dickie Ogden, and multi-reedist Carolyn Walter) came together for a heavy gigging rotation throughout the Bay Area. An EP, The Illusion of Joy, was released in September 2006. They were shortly thereafter signed to AltrOck Productions (home of Italian avant-prog outfit Yugen), and soon began work on their first full-length album Vehicle, which was released in May 2009. The current lineup now features Matt Guggemos on drums and Jamison Smeltz playing alto and baritone saxes, as well as vocals.
:::Review from mirthkon.com:::

Mirthkon - The Illusion Of Joy (2006)

1. Zhagunk (5:00)
2. Johnny Yen (4:22)
3. Daddylonglegz (5:11)
4. Trishna (8:51)

Nathaniel Hawkes / Bass
Dickie Ogden / Drums
Rob Pumpelly / Guitar
Wally Scharold / Guitars, Vocals
Aram Shelton / Woodwinds
Carolyn Walter / Woodwinds

2 komentarze:

  1. 2Tarot says:

    I love the website, go day to see him ever again post. Congratulations and published as yet.
    How about the article, is that other, very interesting.Maybe you'd let you comment on my site.
    Anyway, blog is great. Good luck!